Singing like another singer

CaptainCsaba

• Members

Hello! I've been learning singing for 2 years now with a teacher. My goal with singing is to create a tribute band of my favorite band: Sabaton. I look a lot like the singer and I have kind of the same voice tone as him but not entirelly. I've learned Seth Riggs' techniques on speech level singing for a lot of time now.

Now, I know what you are thinking since everybody said this to me about my problem. They say to me: Oh don't try to sing like someone else, sing like your own, be unique etc etc. While I agree with this, in my case, I want to create a tribute band, so I NEED to sing like that singer, I already have another band where I can explore myself.

My question is: Does anybody of you know a technique to sing like someone else, or at least to try to emulate their voice? I would love any information about this because I really want to do this, I just don't know how.

• Moderators

Hi there,

I'm not really an expert on emulating other singers. But here are some general aspects you can work on to get closer to where you want to achieve. It may take some time and trial and error.

-study the singer's style and diction, listen closely to how they pronounce their words, such as each consonant, vowel and how words are strung together

-work on adjusting your vocal colour and tonal qualities, eg. grit, nasality, overtones, vibrato, etc., some singers do this by making slight adjustments to their breath compression, placement and shaping of the vocal tract

-work on vocal technique to help maintain the same intensity of singing as the singer

-record yourself often and listen back, then use an objective ear to make comparisons between you and the singer

• Members