Tips for singing and playing guitar?

joewp

• Members

Hey All,

Just found this forum! I've been playing guitar for 20 years, I've moved on to advanced finger style techiques but have always had a hang up about singing. Every time I've usually sung and played guitar it's been drab and somewhat out of key. I started taking vocal lessons and was instantly able to do lip trills and match pitch with ease. When I sit down with a guitar however, there is still a bit of an issue. I'm not sure if it's because I'm mentally holding myself back or what. Any general tips for singing and playing a guitar?

• Moderators

Hi joewp, welcome to the forum.

What kind of specific issues are you having for singing and playing a guitar? Usually a common issue for some people is maintaining proper rhythm of both singing and guitar, especially if the guitar part is complex. This is one of the main reasons why singer/songwriters perform only rhythm guitar with strumming chords or simple fingerpicking.

• Members

Never hold your breath while singing. The airflow is what creates and carries your vocal tone, so keep it flowing. Avoid Clavicular Breathing and Belly Breathing -- instead, learn the proper way to breathe for singing, called diaphragmatic breathing. Fill the lower portion of your lungs as if you had an inner tube around your waist that you were evenly filling.

Breathing properly for singing requires the shoulders to remain down and relaxed, not rise with the breath intake. A singer will gain power to their voice by strengthening the muscles in their ribcage and back.

• Members

Thanks guys! I do need to start with a metronome again. As far as breathing, I am taking lessons, so I'm working on that! When I'm back home and near a guitar maybe I'll post a file of how I sound. Thanks for the tips guys.

• 4 weeks later...
  • Members