Before and After recordings, how to reach the next level?

VladM

• Members

I'm self taught, I learn by outside feedback and trail and error.

Tomorrow is a Long Time cover 2 years ago:

Current version:

I was wondering if anyone has advice on how I can progress. Thank you.

• Members

@VladM,

The notes you are sustaining at the ends of each line are somewhat random in pitch. Singing is about sustaining vowels on extended notes and specific pitches.

Your more current version is better than your older version.

Your progress is very slow, due to it being conducted via trial and error.

I suggest you choose a home singing program and begin doing specific training to learn better breath control, pitch, timbre, support, etc. Otherwise you will be many years with very slow progress. If singing is something that is important to you, then you should pursue it more deliberately and with guidance. You can do exercises that will grow your voice and turn your demos into something they will never be with your present trial and error course of action.

Get a vocal plan and follow it. You'll thank yourself.

I'm not saying you're terrible. I'm saying you could be far better than you presently are, but not by random chance.

All the best to you!

Bob

• Members

I think you have captured the mood of the song in the second clip, and you have instinctively migrated to a more sophisticated vocal coordination -- so it will be more difficult to master.

The timbre in the first clip is clearer, but one-dimensional. When you try to do two-dimensional things with it, it causes a pitch problem. I reckon you were thinking two dimensional, but using a one-dimensional mechanism.

The second clip is two-dimensional and more expressive, but the words are less clear (which I hope is not a Dylan influence :-;),