Harmony Central Forums
Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Pls. Help with routing Ableton Live to Notation software using MIDI-Yoke OR Rewire!

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse

X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pls. Help with routing Ableton Live to Notation software using MIDI-Yoke OR Rewire!

Dear Anyone.

If what I wanna do isn't possible, just tell me why and I'll shurrup - I'm a brand new hatched noob at this.

I'm disabled, have to use a notation program and put in all the notes with a mouse. I use Quick Score Elite Level 2, prob. the best notation program out there today - apart from a few small problemos it has. One of them is you can only put effects on the FRONT END of VSTs, so it's one VST, one instrument even if the VST is theoretically multitimbral. The second one is you only get holes for 8 vsts so you're limited to 8 tracks. (In theory you get more but as you can't effrect individual sounds from one instance of a VST, after 8 youi're royally stuffed.)

As you DO GET loadsa staves, I wanted to hook it up to something that can hold loadsa VSTs and I've got Ableton Live (AND Cubase, but that's an everliving nightmare and Ableton looks friendlier!) So I got MIDI-Yoke. Each of MIDI-Yoke's 8 virtual cables can hold 16 instruments (1.1......1.16, then 2.1....2.16 etc) But I can't make Ableton Live see the sub-cables, as far as I can see it's just seeing cables 1-8 and not the decimal point bits. So I'm still limited to 8 tracks and am no better off! That's part 1 of this prob.

Part 2, directly associated, is Proteus VX. If you got 2 instances of that going and they find out about eachother, your computer will become a doorstop until you restart it. Sometimes you get away with 2 (or more) instances but it's a disaster waiting to happen, usually 10 seconds before you bounce down the final version of your track. What I wanna be able to do, in a nutshell, is this:-