No announcement yet.

electronic engineering ,music school or both? , need some help here please

Collapse

X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• electronic engineering ,music school or both? , need some help here please

At the moment i am studying some electronics at a fairly basic level,i've took some extra classes so if i pass it all i can move onto a higher level in august , i'll get to skip a year in a way.

The thing is, i want to go to a music school so i can improve my playing alot more and see what the music industry is like , if i was going to go to a music school i'd mybe get a music degree(then i might have a chance of being a teacher) but i'm not sure , the main reason to go would be to learn to play better.

I dont know what to do really, take the route of getting some electronics qualifications,i'd be able to build pedals,amps etc and also probably have a decent job and money hopefully.

or try and do something with music,mybe the electronics stuff would help with recording too.

Anyone got any thoughts on this? i'm having a hard time making a decision.
    Thanks alot

ok...first of all....if by "music school" you mean a music college (conservatory)....lemme be brutally honest here (as i've attended one.....made it about 2 semesters)....you have to be pretty good to even get in, and then you have to become really good, and you can't study "rock guitar"....there's no such thing.

you WILL have to play piano proficiently, you WILL have to take all the other normal college courses, you will likely have to take at least one semester of conducting, you will be taking music theory until it comes out yer butt.....and the "trials" are a blue freakin' bitch....that's where, and the end of the semester (quarter)...you have to "perform" a piece that you have learned, and it has to be damn near perfect....and it WILL be classical.....unless you get in to Berklely....where you might perform a ridiculous jazz piece....