Move Remove Collapse

X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Headphone advice, please!

So, my wife tells me yesterday that she wants some Beats by Dre headphones as her Christmas present. (She would be using them solely for listening to music, not mixing or instrument or any other more technical purposes).

Other than having heard of them, I don't know anything about them, except that everything about them (celebrity sponsored name, the look, the price) makes my gut tell me they are overpriced for the quality. I have some experience using headphones for playing synth and for mixing on Reason and Reaper. From that experience, I know that you can get studio professional headphones in the same price range as the Beats, stuff that would be waaaaay overkill for someone listening to music on their iPhone.

So, (a) am I right in my gut assessment of the Beats by Dre headphones, and (b) if so, can you suggest some that are a better bang for the buck, for the intended user who uses them just to listen to music?
    My gear list:

Guitars: Epi Les Paul w/ BG Dark Buckers; '06 MIM Fender Strat; '89 MIJ Fender/Squier Tele; '90 MIJ Fender Strat; Seagull S6
    Amps: Vox AC30; Fender Champion 600; Vox Pathfinder 15
    Pedalboard: CS-2/Fulldrive II/SD-1/DD-20/DD-5/Behringer verb/Fish & Chips/Ernie Ball VP/TU-2

Mandolin: Loar LM-520

Keys/Synths: Korg Triton; Korg TR-Rack; Roland SH 201; Yamaha MM6; Yamaha DX7; Mac Powerbook w/ Komplete Elements 7, Vanguard; Reaper; Reason; Korg Electribe ES-1

They have way too much bass and cost 4x what they should.

Still, if my wife says to me "I want x for Christmas" and I don't have to read her mind or spend hours at the mall ..... bargain.
    Lyrics Songs Demos Videos Covers Dj Facebook Tumblr

Before you leave the house, look in the mirror and take one thing off.

-Coco Chanel

Comment