Harmony Central Forums
Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is 4/4 time and 8/8 time the same thing?

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse

X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is 4/4 time and 8/8 time the same thing?

I don't know. 

I can play in "less usual" time signatures as well, but I don't know what they're called or how to work out what time signature it is.

??????

Executive Administrator Of The Dick Long Association Of World Class Achievement Forumites SocietyRock-**************** your Ear-Clit here : SPIDROS EL SPIDRO

8/8?  I'm no expert on time signatures, but I don't recall 8/8.  If I work it out I just count how many beats there are before the riff/phrase/chord progression repeats itself.

http://www.reverbnation.com/thedubiouscapture

Comment

Aside from the notation expansion, technically speaking, no. Depending on the application - the 8 count can lend a very different feel and necessarily different phrasing than a 4 count.

Originally posted by Unconfigured Static HTML Widget...

Write Something...

Comment

• bildo
        bildo commented
        Editing a comment

1001gear is right.

look at it like this.

4/4 strumed in 8ths like a folk guitar deal. up/down/up/down Still 8 beats

Now

8/8 strumed like you would on the down beats. Eight down strums. Still eight beats as above, but a very different feeling.

I can't really think of a situation where I'd prefer to count in 8/8 instead of 4/4. Perhaps it's useful to describe the music having a double-time feel, but then I'd prefer to just think in terms of "4/4 with a double-time feel."