Move Remove Collapse

X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fixed my shower valve this weekend

Sink has good pressure, shower wimpy, like someone was spitting on you. So I turned the water off, got lucky old valves frozen, luckily they worked loose. The valve once apart has low flow things inside which were full of debris. Cleaned these out and now the baby rocks. It's nice to be awesome.
    The ancient Chinese philosopher Lao Tzu, sometimes called the first libertarian thinker, said, "The more artificial taboos and restrictions there are in the world, the more the people are impoverished. ... The more that laws and regulations are given prominence, the more thieves and robbers there will be."

Wow, that's some Bob Villa ****************.

Comment

Wow, that's some Bob Villa ****************.

I used to work as a Plumber...did it for 3 years, I loved looking at how building were made.
      The ancient Chinese philosopher Lao Tzu, sometimes called the first libertarian thinker, said, "The more artificial taboos and restrictions there are in the world, the more the people are impoverished. ... The more that laws and regulations are given prominence, the more thieves and robbers there will be."

Comment

I doubt you were a plumber. Plumber's Helper? Apprentice?

Comment

I replaced our shower valves too...but it wasn't easy. 30 year-old Moen's. I had to buy a special cartridge remover tool, then a 1/2" tap to core it out completely via a 1/2" bolt. I did both showers fine though. If anyone has these silly Moen valves, let me know. It's tricky, but quite doable...cheaper than a plumber.

Glad yours went well too.

Comment

I took a shower.

Went online and googled it.

Checked out the Audel's manual from the library.

Tried it first on my dog - he survived.

Jumped in and lathered up.

Turns out, it's something you CAN do yourself!

(if you're willing to do the prep work)
            may not play well with others...

Comment