Harmony Central Forums
Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

I have a question about time signatures.

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse

X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I have a question about time signatures.

I understand that the numerator in a time signature is the Beats per Measure however I am a'little lost on the denominator, I was always told that the denominator of a Time Sig is "what note gets the beat." But what exactly does that mean? Does that mean that every beat is a quarter note if the denominator is 4? Does that mean if the sig is in 4/2 that every second half note gets the beat? Im sorry if this is a really noobish question, I am kind of new to music theory and I am learning through information on the web. So any other help/suggestion/tips is greatly appreciated. I thank all of you who take the time to help me learn this stuff, it can get really confusing when you learn this stuff on your own.. lol

Note: Aaaaaaand I just realized I am totally in the wrong category right now, I don't even know how I ended up in the "Political Party." My bad guys, this new format is really hard to get the hang of.

Yeah, 4/2 would be four half notes per measure, which I've never seen. The numerator can be anything, but the denominator will be some multiple of 2 (4, 8, 16, etc), unless its 1, which I've also never seen.

While she's talking, I'll use my mind to think of other things. She can't stop my mind!

Comment

The numerator is the number of beats, the denominator is the division of those beats.  The denominator is always divisible by 2.

So a denominator of 2 means half notes, 4 = quarter notes, 8 = eigth notes, 16 = 16th notes, etc.

The top is how many of the bottom there are in a measure.