Need Advice: Splitting Rights Between Artist and a Contributor

CrownedMartyr

• Members

I'm looking for some advice regarding a situation involving ownership/royalty percentages. I'm very new to music publishing and would greatly appreciate any feedback.

Background

​I wrote lyrics to a song and asked a friend if he would help me come up with some music for it. It was never stated that this would be "his" song or that he would ever claim any ownership rights to it. I was just asking for his input. We got together one day and over the course of an hour recorded a rough version of the song with his music. Afterwards, over the course of a year, I offered him the chance to get it professionally-recorded with me, but he never took me up on the offer.

​I recently got in contact with a producer in Nashville that was interested in recording my song. We spent a few days recording and substantial changes were made to the music in the song - the lyrics were not changed, and it is only my vocals on the track with musicians provided by the producer. In the words of my friend, "[the producer] shifted the feel of the song and changed 2 chords, cut the second half of the bridge, shifted a few melody lines." In addition to all of the hours I put into this song, I also paid $1500 + other expenses for the recording.

When I returned home and finally received the finished track, my friend showed excitement and wanted to hear it, so I sent him the track. When I went to upload it to ASCAP, I asked for his information so I could list him as a cowriter. He proceeded to tell me that he would upload it to his BMI and give me 50% of the royalties. I have registered it with both ASCAP and the US Copyright Office.

​I have been advised by my producer, as well as other friends who have produced music, that he should not be able to claim any ownership rights to the song.

My Question

​How is something like this typically handled?