Do you have to report band income less than $2500?

cephus

• Members

I had one corporate gig this year that forced me to use the EIN from my old IT consulting biz. So, I have one 1099 or w-9 or whatever it is. if I roll that in to my personal income, I'll probably owe $1000 on it. I haven't filed for the music business since my 20s. If your side business doesn't clear at least x dollars, I thought you didn't have to report.

Maybe that is crazy talk. I have been googling and searching the forums and I don't see mention of it. Some of the guys at work make more than that ebaying crap and they say you don't have to report it. But they don't have the damned w-9.

If I do the long form, I know I have at least that much in expenses in 2008. But, I do recall that my brain locked up the last time I did it and I paid an accountant. Maybe I should just go back to him.

do I have to report $2500?

• Members

Yes, you do. I'm a CPA for the last thirty years and have never seen or heard anything saying there's a $2500 floor. What may be being misinterpreted are the minimum income levels under which you don't have to file a return at all. But if you have total income above those amounts (easily found with google) or self emplyment income over $400 you have to file and report all your income, regarless of source. Just report the 2500 on schedule C and take your expenses on the same form.

• Members

You are able to write off income paid to other guys without issuing 1099s to them if it's under 600 dollars a man. You would only be on the hook tax-wise for your share of the split. As always, though, you should check with an accountant first, as tax law changes more often than my ex wife's hair color.

• Members
These guys here were trying to tell me that you don't have to report income under 5 grand. Thanks for the reply. I'm sure that the tax guy will appreciate the extra money, too. Gotta help out the economy.
:thu: