Band Name on trailer or gig van/bus?

• Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

Alright gang,

Do you have your band name on your trailer or your gig van/bus? I know it is great advertising but there are also arguments on not displaying it. What is the consensus?

Thanks,

Steve

I'm interested to hear responses as well, since I'm torn at the moment.

• Members

...but seriously....

I see people driving around in cars all the time with all sorts of musical instrument bumper stickers all over the back. They think this makes them cool

"Hey, look at me! I'm a musician, and you're NOT!".

All I see is a vehicle that screams "Hey, break into me. I might have some expensive gear you can pawn for your next fix!"

Same would go for a trailer.

• Members

I think it depends on the type of gigs you do. If you're driving around your local town a lot and heading home to a safe place after every gig, it could be great advertising and help get your name 'out there'. If you do what my band does--a lot of travel gigs where the trailer is left in a hotel parking lot overnight---it seems to me to be a big sign saying "Expensive Musical Equipment Inside--Please Steal!"

• Members

I was driving home from the Bay Area through Sacramento a couple of weeks ago and I ran up alongside one of our main 'competition' band's trailer being towed down the freeway. Really nice paint job with their logo, phone number and URL. Just a giant travelling business card really. I could easily see somebody seeing that and thinking "hey, I need a band for an event, and these guys look pro--I think I'll check 'em out!" I thought it looked really cool and I was kind of jealous to a degree. But then I reality-checked myself and realized that these guys, based in Sacramento, rarely gig out of town and probably park that trailer in somebody's garage after every show. But I'm curious about how they feel about the risk they are taking on the gigs where they don't go home.