The Brand Name Food Chain

• Members

I hear a lot around here about how this brand sucks and this brand is great and this brand is in this range or that. So here's your chance. Rate the SR brands you can think of and group them in bang for the buck and overall quality and reliability. I'm thinking specifically of brands like Peavey, Carvin, Behringer, JBL, Nady, B-52, Yamaha, etc...

Thanks, I'm pretty new to the PA field and would like to get a general idea of where they stack up. I know I should get the best I can afford but at some point there is a cut-off of budget to quality.:D

• Members

I'm actually curious to hear people's opinions of B-52. I thought they were just a no-name Guitar Center brand, because their guitar heads and cabinets are dirt {censored}ing cheap... but I heard a band use one with a full PA (two B-52 folded subs on each side, two B-52 dual 15" + horn cabinets on each side) and it sounded bloody amazing.

• Members

i was thinking b-52 was more into dj and club speakers, or at least that how i learned about them. can't say that i've heard any, its cool that their doing folded horns .

for speakers i like the old timers like jbl, electro voice, and cerwin vega.

for amps i'd probably pick qsc.

• Members

Originally posted by Audiopile

Ok, here's a few "rule of thumb" quality indicators I've picked up over the years:

11) Wall wart powered: generally not so good.

The only point that I'd question. True, all the really good stuff almost always gets the power plugged in.

I've been under the impression that the main reasons for designing and building units with wall-warts is because of extra engineering/manufacturing cost and time involved with waiting for UL approvals when using internal power supplies. Is this true?

Anyway, although almost all cheap gear does use wall-warts, aren't there quite a few upper level MI or lower level pro-gear units that also use wall-wart power?

• Members