Need help - 18" subs/amp for kick drum system (long post)

• Members

I have read about 200 posts here that have helped, but I still have many questions.

A little background...

I'm a drummer :p I don't know much about proper PA/amp setups so please forgive my ignorance. I have a triggered kick drum and am trying to put together a system for 2 applications:

- Jamming (5 person metal band)

- small venue (100+ kids like in a small gym, 50'x50' maybe tops)

Here is what I have so far:

- DDRUM kick trigger into a MidiKat midi controller into an EMU PROCUSSION sound module

- drum module into an Alto 12 channel mixer

- mixer into an amp (no amp, but renting a AP800 right now)

- amp into 2 x Peavey Black Widow 1801 18" speakers in home made cabinets

Now on to my millions of questions (I could probably start about 10 different threads but I'll just keep it all here for now :))

Speakers

- am I safe to assume I have good speakers to get the job done? 350 w continuous with a 700 w peak seems like it should be enough to give me some massive kicks in small rooms right?

- the guy I bought them from said the cabinets are "port tuned" to 100mhz. The cabinets are approx 2' wide, 2' deep and 2-1/2' high. The speakers are mounted facing down and there are 2 large port holes in the bottom section of the cabinet (I'm assuming to force the speaker output down then out the holes). The holes are about 8" in diameter spaced evenly on the front of the cab.

- There is a small coil or something between the input jack on the back of the speaker cabinet and the connection to the speaker. Could this be some type of built in filter or crossover? (Again I have no clue)

Amp

- ok way too many choices for me since I really don't know what is going to be appropriate for this setup. I have been using the AP800 bridged into a single speaker cab and have NOT been satisfied with the volume I get before massive clipping. More on this below...