PA level control question.

• Members

I'm no expert, but I'll explain it the way it was explained to me. Think of it as a water line with 2 valves, the amp valve 1 and the speakers valve 2. If you have the amp valve turned down, and crank the speaker valve wide open, you may not have enough water (power) to supply the speakers. With the amp wide open, you get a quicker, better response. But (isn't there always a but) you wouldn't want to trade off sound quality. If your amp is quiet at 75%, but load at 100%, run it at 75% and turn your mixer up.

Did that help,

Rickr

• Members

The level controls on power amps are input attenuators, not output. Having the amp turned all the way up allows the entire signal into the amp. Having it turned down a little won't necessarily lower the output level, only the input level. If you input a strong enough signal, you can still get the full output.

• Members

I'd say it should be set to give you the most control on your mixing board. Have it set so that topping out your board is too loud, but seomwhere in the middle is just right. If you turn your amp up too loud, you have your board settings low and still be killing people.

-Dan.

• CMS Author

The only situation where I'd lower attenuators is for something like playing a room way too small for the rig, where you simply can't set up good gain structure before the amp without blasting holes in the building.

Further to B Adam's comments; never confuse amp input attenuators for protection. The amplifier is alway running at full potential, and a high enough input signal, even if attenuated, can result in damaged equipment. It's always a good idea to have effective limiters in the system.

• Members

Originally posted by Craigv

The only situation where I'd lower attenuators is for something like playing a room way too small for the rig, where you simply can't set up good gain structure before the amp without blasting holes in the building.