Please Help. Behringer PMP5000 powered mixer

• Members

First off I know the "B" word brings out the worst in people so please be kind as I am a newbie.

I bought a Berhinger PMP 5000 powered mixer that is supposed to be 400 watts per channel. Well if that is the case my unit is defective because I just don't seem to get that kind of power or even close to it.

I am running it in Main/main position with two Behringer 15's speakers rated at 8 ohms. I think this is my problem and feel if they were 4 ohm speakers I would be getting more power.

My question is if I piggy back two 8 ohm speakers which would bring me down to 4 ohms on each side would I see a improvement.

Any advice on running, mixing or how to get more sound out of this mess without buying a external amp or powered speakers would be appreciated.

Please don't make this a Behringer is crap thread because I made the mistake every newbie has was buy cheap when I should have saved my money.

But for now how do I get the most out of what I have without breaking the bank??

thanks in advance,

fisherman

• Members

Ok..the spec's say this powered mixer puts out 215watts per channel at 8ohms.

http://www.behringerdownload.de/PMP1000_3000_5000/PMP1000_565_567_ENG_Rev_A.pdf

If you put to 8ohm speakers on one channel it would present the amp with a 4ohm load and receive 450watts. This 450 watts would be shared equally by the two speakers yielding 225watts per speaker. You would not be able to distinguish between 215watts and 225watts.

I would suspect that 215watts into a reasonably efficient speaker should yield a decent amount of SPL (volume). Are you sure everything is configured properly. Behringer takes some shots around here for quality, but if everything is working properly, I'd suspect that you'd get a a decent amount of volume.:confused:

• Members