Choosing a P.A. system

• Members

New member. Ive been playing guitar for about 45 years. Recently chose to get more involved and start playing out again. Solo acoustic & vocal, NO MORE BANDS! I've been out of touch with whats available today. Can anyone recommend a good P.A.? Carvin seems to offer a nice complete package in the $850.00 - $1,000.00 range.

• Members

For solo acoustic work that is light, cheap and small (and sounds good) I would suggest that you put the EV (Electrovoice) ZX1 speakers on your list of items to audition. They are under $300 each, sound good and weigh 18 pounds. They also work as a stage monitor.

• Members

you're going to get 3 answers, so i'll jump on it yamaha clubs and a powered head.

yorkville powered cabs and a small mixer

peavey powered mixer and some pr series cabinets.

Which model Yorkville powered speakers ? 12" or 15 " ?

• Members

I second the Yamaha Stage Pas recommendation (for what little I know of your situation). For under $1k, they work really well. I personally prefer them over the Fender Passports quite a bit, a nice turn-key system ready to go. But you know what they say, "Opinions are like arse-holes..."

• Members

Here is my .02Cents:

Peavey xr8600 powered mixer. (Im switching to one of these for my solo acts)

a pair of EV sx300 speakers. They are out of your price range new, but a used pair will run you about $600. I use the Ev's and the matching subs and it may be overkill for some solo gigs but I get people dancing with the extra thump, which is not an easy task if you are solo with no backing tracks.

That setup is a little above your range but only by about $200, And those EV's are so much better than the Peavey PR speakers.

• Members

Here is my .02Cents:

Peavey xr8600 powered mixer. (Im switching to one of these for my solo acts)