Having an issue with Crown XTI amp. Please help, URGENT!!

• Members

I recently replaced my Behr power amps with Crown XTI power amps. I just hooked them up for the first time yesterday and the XTI2000 , which I want to run a pair of Dual 15"s full range, is giving me fits. I set it to run with the DSP off and what is happening is the channel 2 volume control is not doing anything at all and the channel 1 volume control is adjusting volume through both speakers. It is running as if the channels are summed, but the amp is set to stereo and it is not running any kind of DSP. I called Crown directly( I am a dealer, but I have NO experience with these amps) and they walked me through a bunch of stuff and told me there was something wrong with the amp and they overnighted me a new one. I just hooked it up and it is doing the exact same thing!!!!

I have tried switching inputs, not linking the power amps, storing blank presets etc. It always does the same thing.

Also, I am running an XTI4000 on the Sub Synth preset for a pair of Dual 18" subs and i just took the amps to about noon and put the masters on the board at 0 and I was clipping. It seemed way too early for these amps to be clipping. Am I doing something wrong here?

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

Unfortunately, i can't help you as i'm not familiar with these specific Crown amps.

Having said that, i've run into problems with Crown's clipping long before other similarly rated but better built amps do. I think that a LOT of this has to do with the scrawny ass power supplies and filter caps that Crown uses. This results in the rail voltages sagging under heavy load. Less available voltage ( due to the sag ) translates to less available power, resulting in clipping. Noticeably bigger filter caps may help this problem, but would strictly be a band-aid at best.