Hunting causes for buzz & hum on guitars in church venue

• Members

Hi!

I'm a guitarist searching for causes for buzz & hum in a large church venue.

Our soundman blames the guitars, bass and the equipment we use...all THREE of us.

FACTS:

1. Pro level equipment. (VHT & Mesa amps)

2. Pro level guitars (Yes...single coils are completely unusable in this venue, and Humbuckers still hum like mad. Barden pickups even hum in this place.

3. Power conditioners and Hum-X inserts are on all guitar amps & pedal boards. Decimator hum (gate) pedals REALLY suck as gates, but we use them when we can.

4. This problem includes the bass player with active 5-string Fender & Brubaker basses & SWR Pro rig.

MORE FACTS (as viewed by know-nothing guitar player):

1. Venue uses MANY wireless microphones.

2. I've used an inexpensive hardware store electric outlet checker and the power is wired correctly it appears.

3. I think the noise is radio or rf generated. Shielding helps to a degree. Noise is worse when guitarists turn in certain directions. A metal cymbal held in front of a guitar player's guitar starts to cut down on the noise.

4. Venue has florescent lighting. (We've turned them off...hum continues)

5. Venue has banks of dimmer equipped banks of lights...100-watt incandesent floods. (We've started eliminating banks, but this doesn't appear the answer so far)

6. Venue has some larger shuttered par cans on dimmers (We've started eliminating banks, but this doesn't appear the answer either)

7. I believe all the guitars and amps are on the same electrical circuit. (I'll try running a long power line to another VERY remote power outlet next week)

Any ideas? :confused:

(This might sound silly, but the sound man just tells everyone in the band to go buy better guitars. Better than PRS, Brubaker and Gibson?!?)

Please help before we're all stuck using EMG pickups on our guitars!

• Members