No announcement yet.

Reverb/Delay Live Vox

Collapse

X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Reverb/Delay Live Vox

So I have band, two guitars, bass, drums, two vocals.

We have a Yamaha EMX512c and Yamaha Club SM15s and SM12 monitors.

Doing clubs, outdoor festival venues, etc.

I cannot get the onboard effects on the EMX 512 to sound decent on vocals.

I like delay over muddy reverb and am wondering if I need to invest in a seperate reverb delay unit and abandon the onboard.

Lexicon is highly reputable and thought about something like a MX200 to at least upgrade the quality of effects.

I even have a 60W Crate accoustic amp with onboard effects that blow the EMX 512 out of the water.

I am no pro at mixing. I keep trying to get the vocals sharp and crisp, but cannot seem to put it all together, much less add a little decent delay or reverb.

Advice?

Emil

I like delay over muddy reverb and am wondering if I need to invest in a seperate reverb delay unit and abandon the onboard.

...I keep trying to get the vocals sharp and crisp, but cannot seem to put it all together, much less add a little decent delay or reverb.

Maybe that was supposed to say "It's like delay over muddy reverb..." but if not, isn't "delay over muddy reverb" pretty much the opposite of "sharp & clear vocals"?
    basses:
    ~1986 pearl white fretless Fender Jazz Bass Special | 1978 black on black, maple neck Fender Precision | dark shadow grey Fender Power Jazz Bass Special | Novatone Precision!? | a couple of uprights

equipment:
    Sunn 1200s & 410h cabinet | too many other bass amps to list
    Akai Deep Impact | Akai Unibass | Ashly DPX-200 | Korg DT-10 tuner | a few pedals I don't use

Comment

Maybe that was supposed to say "It's like delay over muddy reverb..." but if not, isn't "delay over muddy reverb" pretty much the opposite of "sharp & clear vocals"?

I took it to mean that he prefers to use a delay more than a muddy reverb.