okay to store PA equipment in garage?

• Members

Hello -- I'm new to all this. Live in Florida, so it doesn't get real cold. Tonight's about as cold as it ever gets [going to be about 25 degrees]. Obviously, gets hot and humid in the summer.

Question is, is PA equipment okay to store in a garage? I suppose I could find a spot in the house if necessary. But if it's all the same, I have a convenient spot in the garage for my PA and mics [mics are in a bag with cables].

Sorry for such an amateur question, but I've been playing a long time. Just never in front of anyone. So I just ordered a PA and I plan to start doing a few acoustic duos.

thanks

• Members

Thanks for the responses guys. Glad to hear ya'll think the garage will be fine. I can just see my 3 and 6 year olds plugging in one day for a little game of "I wonder what this button does".

I ordered a Yamaha Stagepas 500, so I don't need a ton of room. Yeah, it gets humid down here and that was my biggest concern. But my house is pretty new and the garage is totally dry. And it's detached from the house so I can play when everyone's sleeping, which is nice.

Thanks again for the feedback.

Mike

• Members

Don't leave tonewoods like percussion or stringed instruments in the garage. The heat/humidity will adversely affect the tone and/or the finish beyond repair.

PA gear such as speakers and electronics should be OK as long as they are not flush to the ground (draws moisture into wood and speakers). Excess humidity absorb into the speaker cones making them heavier and they will change their sound.

• Members

Don't leave tonewoods like percussion or stringed instruments in the garage. The heat/humidity will adversely affect the tone and/or the finish beyond repair.

I had this problem over the summer - Carelessly left the guitars in the garage for a week after the gig. Result: Finish checking on one of the guitars, rust beginning to form on EVERYTHING metal...