Free JBL Mixer

• Members

So i've been trying to get a little bit more serious with my band lately, and we've been looking for some recording equipment and a PA system. Well, with our luck, we were able to score a JBL mixer that's not used anymore from my more, it's and Eon MusicMix 10, as shown here(http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,12883456). Now that we're started I was hoping you guys could reccomend me some recording mics, at the freaking most dirt cheap price for value you can think of. and Some reccomendations for power amps, (the mixer isn't powered) and some live speakers. Also, two questions,

1.) Do you think it would be better to get powered speakers instead of a power amp and passives?

2.) Do you necesarrily need a powered amp to record things? sorry, i'm new to this.

Thanks guys.

• Members

1.) Do you think it would be better to get powered speakers instead of a power amp and passives?

2.) Do you necesarrily need a powered amp to record things? sorry, i'm new to this.

Thanks guys.

Good powered speakers are best. They are easier to move, set up and tear down. They also offer the proper power for the component and are usually bi or tri amped. No rack to carry around with crossovers and amps. It

• Members
Okay, we've got some amps, so no need to worry much about that haha. Thanks for the advice. But what i'm seeing is we could get a pretty weak powered speaker in our budget, but for not so much more, you could get a fairly powerful power amp and speakers. So i'm kind of torn on that one. What doesn't help much is i'm not sure about what wattage equates to volume. If it's similar to guitar amps, then 200 should be plenty, but I don't know. Do you or any of you guys have specific suggestions?

if you are going passive, what power amps do you have to use with the mixer and speakers? Then try and match your speakers to whichever amp you are planning to use. Volume depends on wattage and efficiency of the speakers, among other smaller things.