Tuning drums and SR

• Members

In many, many threads there have been statements concerning the importance of tuned drums. I for one, do not have a clue what tuned drums sound like!! How critical is it for any soundman to know that? If I did know what they sounded like, how do you inform the drummer his instrument needs tuning? How common is it to find drummers who cannot tune their own drums? How many of you guys can do it?

As a guitarist, I understand the obviousness of being in tune, with drums I'm not so well informed.

• Members

Tuning is subjective, but generally a drum kit that's in tune has lots of "resonance" and "sustain" but no "ring". They will resonate at a clear and defined pitch. Drums that are out of tune generally don't sustain very long after they've been hit, and also tend to "ring" at various frequencies which can cause feedback. That's the basis of tuning drums; the relationship of tension at each lug, and also the relationship between the batter and resonant heads. I have a go-to method of tuning drums that gets me a sound I like, but depending on the style of music I may change drum heads and tune them differently or add or remove muffling for different tones and textures.

I can tune drums, but then again, I'm also a drummer and do session work as a drummer. I play guitar, bass, and drums professionally and have a mild understanding of the mechanics of most any other instrument. A high percentage of bar bands and such don't know how to tune drums, while a high percentage of professionals either know it well or have a tech do it for them. If I come across a kit that sounds horrible, I'll say something like "wow this kit sounds awful" to the drummer, but I won't bother telling him to fix it. It might be a good idea to look up some youtube videos on drum tuning, Bob Gatzen's videos are good.

[video=youtube;H0ZzyAQ37og]

• Members