Best Condenser Mic Comparable to AT3031

• Members

OK, to prefix - I'm a bassist, not a sound-guy.

That being said, I run sound (begin pointing/laughing here) at my church for our choirs, basically because I'm the only one that knows what a mixer and rack system do.  The only thing I really have going for me are my ears because, after listening to decades of gospel & motown music, I can mix the sopranos/altos/tenors/basses pretty well.

Here's the thing - with the increase of the size of the choir (and introduction of children's choir and other applications) I'm trying to increase the number of condenser mics that we use (currently four AT3031s) but I don't believe this model is being manufactured any more.  I'd like to beef up the spread with four to six more of a comparable condenser mic, but don't know what would be a good model that comes close to matching specs with the AT.

Any ideas?  Different manufacturer?  Convert to Druid?  Begin boiling water as a sacrifice to the FSM?

• Members

I own two AT4041's nice mics.  However maybe you should explain what you're trying to do specifically. Just adding more mics won't necessarily increase volume if coverage isn't your issue.  For instance each doubling of your mics can result in a loss of potential gain before feedback of 3 dB. But coverage and proximity play a crucial part in what does and doesn't occur.

BTW I'm no PA guru, but I have miced my fair share of choirs. Sometimes less is more - that's sometimes. And sometimes placement of mics and/or placement of performers can make a difference. And often, even matching your expectations with your true needs (and your wallet) can help.

• Members