New Speakers Smoking Again! Please Help!

• Members

Some of you might remember me from some threads last week. I had a pair of dual 15" JBL speakers hooked up to an XTI-4000. One of the speakers started smoking after about an hour of use. I knew these speakers weren't great, so I figured I just overpowered them.

I came on here for advice and a few guys recommended the QSC KW series. The idea of active speakers was appealing so I didn't have to risk "over powering and blowing the new speakers".

I got the QSC speakers today and hooked up 2-KW153's and 2-KW181's. I had the gain turned up about 70%. Within 2 minutes one of the subs started smoking!

I feel like I am in the twilight zone. I am kind of a noob with live sound, but I've owned p/a's for years. I've been a drummer and guitar player for a long time and I also used to DJ. I've never had problems like this before!

I have the equiptment at my house. But purchased it for live bands to play out of during work functions that I host at our office.

Here's everything I had hooked up to test these speakers:

1. MP3 player 1/8th" into dual RCA in 16 Channel Tascam M-2516

2. Dual XLR out of Mixer into Sabine GRQ2 3122 (EQ/Compressor)

3. Dual XLR out of Sabine into Input A of KW 153, Output A of KW 153 to Input A of KW181 (repeat for right side)

4. All 4 powered speakers are plugged into one Furman Power Conditioner.

A few things to note:

* This is the second time I've had a set of speakers smoking!

* I had the gain up about 70% - the speakers sounded really good.
* The speakers have an LED limit light on the front. I never saw this come and I was watching!
* Nothing in the chain was clipping
* Settings on the back of all speakers were identical. Normal polarity, flat eq, same gain levels.
* The mixer and cables were used for 10 years no problems with 15" cheap Cerwin Vega speakers.
* The Sabine is a new addition. Not sure if this could be the problem?