Compression settings

• Members

Hey , I know this has been delt with time and time again and is probably a age old question. but i bought a compressor (alesis 3632) last weekend and tinkered with it some and think i am going to like it, now my question is this , what is some of ya'lls compression settings for vocals and kick, i know its a set to your own taste thing but i just want it to be effective in the ways it should be. but relax some of you , i know i have had a discussion on the whole parallel and serial thing. i am going to hook it up in serial. i just wanted to make sure before i use it that i wasn't over compressing anything. thanks.

• Members

I have to be honest, compression, limiting, and gating CONFUSES the living hell out of me. So, first, THANK YOU, BlueGreene for posting that link. I read through it once already, and I am going to study it. I have NEVER used compression/limiting/gating before so this is all new to me.

Next, a question: I have been hearing absolutely AMAZING things about the RNC units. Any thoughts? Insights? Tips?

• 10 months later...
  • Members

Ahh... Compression.  If there's one topic in all of audio land that brings out the "holier than thou" anonymous cyber bully it is... Compression! (just watch the replies to this post)  When some poor slob goes to an online forum to ask the simple question: "what are some basic compressor settings?" every irate yard stick wielding Mother Superior from the St.Threshold School of the Blessed Unity Gain come flying out of their offices to whack your knuckles... "FOOL! THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS BASIC COMPRESSOR SETTINGS!