New tuner suggestions?

• Members

I'm thinking of updating the tuner I've been packing along in my gig bag for a couple - three decades. What I have and have had since sometime in the '80's... maybe early '90's is an Arion HU-8500 stompbox type tuner. It still works fine, but I suspect there's likely better out there. Suggestions?

• Members

Wow, that tuner takes me back to my Mesa Boogie and Rat R2D2 days. IIRC my Arion either broke, or I found it just a tad off - probably a bit of both. I switched to the Korg rackmount tuners like the DT-1 Pro and picked up another Korg rack mount for studio use - still have both of them. These days however, I've got a couple of Boss TU-2 tuners in both of my pedal boards. They're not bad, and I see a lot of them out there. I only use my rack a few times per decade.

I see they also have the TU-3 now. Excuse the Canadian link, I know you're south of the border, the other border that is.

https://www.long-mcquade.com/7631/Guitars/Accessories/Boss/Chromatic_Tuner.htm

• Members

I use a Petersen 490ST for everything. Had a Korg rack unit, and never warmed up to it. I would be happy with a Petersen stompclassic also. Not cheap but does include a built in direct box to offset the cost. I wont use anything else, but that is mainly just because I feel at home with an actual strobe wheel.

http://www.petersontuners.com/products/stompclassic/

• Members

I'm thinking of sourcing a tuner with a needle meter so it can be read in day-light. And something "small-ish" so it's minimal in the gig bag. And reasonably inexpensive so if it walks off... eh...

eh... packing along a tuner is not as boy scout as it used to be as tuners are much more prevalent than they were 20 - 30 years ago. Now the boy scout thing seems to be installing 9v batteries to activate the on-board tuners on instruments... which seems to be a good use for 1 show worn wireless mic batteries.

• Members