Using Bose classic speakers with Crown power amp

• Members

Retiring the 10 year old Bose Classic and not able to afford a new one. I've enjoyed it for a solo act with voice and acoustic guitar but want something smaller and lighter than the base unit. Thinking about adding a Crown XLS 1002 power amp to my Yamaha MG12/4 mixer and using the speakers from the Bose. Need some advice though:

1. Think it would sound as good as the Classic or would it not be the same without the Bose preamps/presets,etc?

2. Could someone tell me how to wire the speakers for optimum performance?

3. Is this a good or bad idea?

Thanks for the help.

• Members

You will not find much love for anything Bose on this forum but I like (and use) Bose 402's and 802's in my applications. Although I have limited experience playing through the Classic system I can tell you that as with your current unit, you will have to deal with some weight in powered speaker or mixer power amp, or powered mixer. There is no way around weight.

Solo/duo acts around my area like those Bose (stick) systems because they can usually put the stick behind a performer to act as a FOH and monitor rig. My limited experience with a Bose stick system made my ears hurt after a while standing in front / slightly off axis to it...

If you are doing a solo guitar/vocal thing pick up a pair of used Bose 402's (get the older series, not the series II) plus controller which are readily available on ebay. You could get a Yamaha powered mixer (6 channel) and be all set.

Just my TCW

Mike M

• Members
Retiring the 10 year old Bose Classic and not able to afford a new one. I've enjoyed it for a solo act with voice and acoustic guitar but want something smaller and lighter than the base unit. Thinking about adding a Crown XLS 1002 power amp to my Yamaha MG12/4 mixer and using the speakers from the Bose.

Thanks for the help.