hookup on a mixwiz to a compressor...cables?

• Members

I am installing a compressor/gate in my kick channel. Im assuming I can use just the insert from each channel of the compressor to the insert of the mixwiz channel? if so do I just use a TRS patch cord, or is something better. Or is the insert a bad idea and using the xlr's a better idea? I would like to use the insert, but want to do whats best, or if it even matters.??

• Members

Here's a suggestion... read the manuals to determine HOW a compressor's signal flow works. It will become obvious at that point why it's done the way it is done, and why using the XLR in and out is a poor choice. Also, most compressors are not protected from phantom power applied to their inputs so that's another reason not to use the XLR connections.

• Members

The manual is two pages.....it does not go into detail on specifics. It has a wiring diagram in the rear page, but I am not an electrical engineer. It is a DBX 266xs.....the manual is really primitive. To put it short...I have read all 2-4 pages of the manual and its very vague.

• Members
I am installing a compressor/gate in my kick channel. Im assuming I can use just the insert from each channel of the compressor to the insert of the mixwiz channel? if so do I just use a TRS patch cord, or is something better. Or is the insert a bad idea and using the xlr's a better idea? I would like to use the insert, but want to do whats best, or if it even matters.??

You need to get a TRS to two TS cable(s). The tip is generally the send from the insert on the kick channel, the sleeve is the return.

http://www.audiopile.net/products/Patch_snakes/MTIS/YIN/YIN_cutsheet.shtml

How to setup and properly run the comp is a whole other topic. Less is more and sometimes nothing is better than using a piece of gear if you're uncertain how..

• Members