Stage Fright

tjb

• Members

Who experiences it ?

Sometime, depending on the gig I have it, but always get through it. Sometime unforeseen glitches pop up and being prepared helps. From experience I am usually prepared, but just when you think you've seen it all, a new issues pops up.

I'm not sure I would call mine Stage Fright or anxiety, but it happens from time to time, especially a new gig or higher pressure venue.

• Members

I have stage fright. All the time. I have been playing professionally for 25+ years. 2 to 5 times per week. I was petrified when I started. Not being dramatic, "petrifed" is the correct word.

Have now played 4000+ paid gigs. All I can say is - accept it - and it DOES get easier -

• Moderators

If you suffer performance anxiety, maybe you are not cut out to play live.

There are definitely different levels, from the pertrification level rockerdiva suffered to the 'butterflies'...but nearly everyone I know has that little 'pre-show' moment, running through all the potential horrors that could befall them.

Y'know what? Sometimes they happen! And either you get through it...or you don't. As Yoda said 'Do, or do not, there is no try'.

The old 'imagine the audience naked' thing...not always good...if you play at senior citizen centers, or your parents are in the audience... ;)

• Members

i think everyone experiences it to some degree... if it is something debilitating, then yeah, maybe look for something else to do... but a little rush or the "butterflies" is a good thing as i see it... to me it says you are still concerned over giving a good performance and there is still some excitement about stepping out onto the stage... if you ever get to the point where you dont feel anything, i would definitely recommend finding something else to do, no maybes about it...

• Members