downsizing a duo

pogo97

• Members

I'm rehearsing with two different women in hopes of performing as a duo. One duo would be jazz-age pop and the other old country. I'm a full-time musician and have listened to and played in both idioms for fifty years. Neither of the women are full-time musicians and neither seem to understand that this stuff takes work.

Jazz-age partner is literate and a well-trained singer but didn't recognise Billie Holiday when I played her "What a Little Moonlight Can Do." Hadn't heard of Billy Holiday. Need I say more? Old Country singer knows the repertory cold and plays goodish campfire-level guitar, but sounds more like Kitty Wells than I might prefer and -- here's the killer -- can't sing harmony. Neither of these problems will go away without a LOT of work on their part and I don't think that's going to happen.

I think I'll draw back and focus on solo, which is mostly what I've always done.

So. . . how to let them go gently.

1) cancel rehearsals and be generally unavailable until they get the hint (I've seen this used with great effect in all manner of relationships)

2) phone and say "it isn't working"

3) email and say "it isn't working"

4) other

• Moderators

Be honest and up front with them [and it is Billie, not Billy, btw...shame on you!]. Frankly, many people don't know the greats of the classic jazz era like Holliday, Waters, Horne any more, but that is not a reason to not work with them...I deal with this all the time, people who are not aware of Louis Jordan, or the Nat Cole Trio [his later stuff, yes], or Charles Brown for instance.

• Members
Frankly' date=' many people don't know the greats of the classic jazz era like Holliday, Waters, Horne any more, but that is not a reason to not work with them...I deal with this all the time, people who are not aware of Louis Jordan, or the Nat Cole Trio [his later stuff, yes'], or Charles Brown for instance.