Newbie here. Looking for ideas to fluff up my repertoire

BrianDerek

• Members

Hey all! As the subject says, I'm a 'Newb', so I apologize if I'm broaching a topic that's been beaten to death on here. I've been playing solo off and on for years (mostly guitar, ukulele, and voice stuff), but seem to be helplessly mired in the past with my repertoire. Can anyone suggest some newer things that will allow me to be more current, yet maintain the dignity of my...ahem..."middle age"? My range is akin to Jason Mraz, Kenny Loggins, etc. but I try to utilize all keys and ranges for variety. Any advice for sure-fire crowd pleasers (anything from 1990 on would be new to me) will be greatly appreciated! Thanks, Brian

• Members

I've been slowly getting into more of the hotel circuit, where they usually hire twenty to thirty something young ladies, with the odd thirty something male thrown in. I've been shocked to find that they do a whole lot of older stuff... Up On Cripple Creek, Grapevine, Big Yellow Taxi and so on. I guess they also do material that I don't know, like the John Mayer book, and Mumford and Sons, but I'm surprised they do the older stuff. I suppose if you look young enough, you can rediscover the oldies without being labelled an oldie.

Meanwhile I was trying to find newer songs until I realized I'd be better off doing older songs that sound new. So I'm throwing in Marvin Gaye, Dennis Edwards, Bobby Caldwell, Pieces of a Dream, Bill Withers and so on. Even though I've played songs like Treasure and Uptown Funk in bands, at my age, doing Bruno Mars just seems silly. I was thinking about starting a thread along these lines - still might.

• Members