First solo bar gig

the_big_e

• Members

So I did my first solo bar gig last night for 'real' pay. It's actually a local micro brewery and I was just playing early evening, 6-9 pm which suits me just fine. I'm not a night owl anymore.

I've been busking at local farmer's markets for a couple of years now which I quite enjoy, even in winter (I think I get more tips then just out of sympathy for freezing my butt off!) but I enjoy playing to a mostly passing audience, you can reeeeeaalllly stretch the solos out if you want in that situation!

Playing inside in a bar is, as a first timer, was a bit strange. This place was pretty small so in such a small venue t's sort of like busking at a farmer's market as I had to keep the volume down so I was little more than background music but instead of the audience walking past, they just sat there. Weird is all I can say. Well, it felt weird to me!

As a busker I just play since there's ot a lot of point in talking to an audience that will be gone in two minutes so playing in a bar and having to try to engage an audience that is not really listening is a bit of an uphill struggle, at least it is for me, I'm not the chattiest of people even on a good day! Still I did manage 'some' engagement and the one request of the night I knew (Free bird of course, someone always asks for that) and it got a good response from the audience so I think it's safe to say I rocked it, or that one at least.

I am sure that if I kept at it and did a few more it would get easier, even busking was hard for me the first time, I am just not sure if I really want to keep doing the bar thing. Part of me does but like I say, I'm not a night own anymore.

Still all in all, I had a good time, it's all experience and if I never do it again, I've done it once and that's something I never thought I'd do!

• Moderators

congrats...the first one is the trickiest, and now that you've lost your virginity, you can become a slut like the rest of us ;)