What Now?

O.G.T.V.

• Members

Hello everybody!

Just writing as a solo/singer/songwriter asking myself what to do in this point of my career. For many long years I used to be a guitarist for many bands and artists. At the same time, I was working on my original material, but didn't have the chance neither budget to launch my career. Last year at 23 years old, I launched myself as a singer/songwriter. Did 17 gigs on the first year. 2nd year (2015) things started slow, but I managed to sing at two Relay For Life events at primetime. Did 4 more shows (2 public & 2 private), and after them I traveled to Atlanta for a month.

I have been booked since January for a November private show, got reconfirmation on summer, but now I haven't made any official live apparitions since July 5. I did promotion once again since I returned to Puerto Rico (where I'm from), and not even ONE call. At least there's interest in Atlanta for me*

I'm wondering which right now is the next step. I do want to record my EP, but I don't have an official band with me. I have considered recording some solo covers and even originals, and post the audio online as a demo for people. I have a Windows XP desktop, a Windows 7 laptop, and iPad 2 as recordings tools. I have considered buying USB mics, and interfaces for recording; but I lack experience in that department. I would like something I can record voice and instrument (guitar) at once.

Should I invest in home recording, visit a studio for guidance, invest in advertising or what do you think should be the next step?

People like what I do, but I don't see much of a follow-up. I only had 3 back to backs shows with 3 different employers. After them, nothing more; but at least we keep in touch.

Well...looking forward to your comments. I appreciate any help or guidance you can provide me.

• Moderators

First time out...use someone else's studio. Pay attention, make sure they explain what they are doing...so you can set yourself up next time.