MicroKorg - as a guitar effects pedal???

• Members

Hi all

I'm a guitarist who has recently lbeen tinkering around with a collection of vintage 80s casiotone and early yamaha home-user keyboards. While they do have the potential for cheesiness, you can manage to squeeze some sweet and quite charming old analogy sounds out of these things.

Anyway, I'm thinking that I wouldn't mind exploring the possibilities of keyboards as well as synths a bit more and have been looking at the Korg Micro as well as the Alesis Micron. The Korg is so far the front runner because it looks easier to use (all the knobs and labels are printed on the thing, as opposed to the Micron). I notice the Korg has a line in for instruments.

I'm wondering if anyone has tried plugging a guitar into the korg and then outputting it back into an amp, and if they have, what on earth it does to the sound. For example, is it possible to use the MicroKorg as a basic guitar effects pedal (using the phaser and delay (?) built into the MicroKorg). I'm basically looking at reasons why the korg may be good value. Trying to justify the purchase it by fooling myself that it can do a number of things.

Any help or advice would be much appreciated.

Cheers

• Members

Hi all

I'm a guitarist who has recently lbeen tinkering around with a collection of vintage 80s casiotone and early yamaha home-user keyboards. While they do have the potential for cheesiness, you can manage to squeeze some sweet and quite charming old analogy sounds out of these things.

Anyway, I'm thinking that I wouldn't mind exploring the possibilities of keyboards as well as synths a bit more and have been looking at the Korg Micro as well as the Alesis Micron. The Korg is so far the front runner because it looks easier to use (all the knobs and labels are printed on the thing, as opposed to the Micron). I notice the Korg has a line in for instruments.