Korg M50 versus Kurzweil PC3?

• Members

I'm new to the whole synth world, so I'd love any input from people who do.

Questions:

Which is better for jazz gigs?

Which has the most capability to creat your own individual sound?

Which has the better acoustic piano sound?

Thanks

:confused:

Definitely the PC3x out of those two. The M50 has more detailed and interesting out-of-the-box synth sounds and arpeggios, but the PC3x has superior piano sounds and synthesis engine.

• Members

You might want to demo the Kurz PC3X against the Korg M3-88, not the M50.

U.S. Prices (for comparison only since you live in Australia)

$ 3,000 -- PC3X -- http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/PC3X

$ 2,700 -- M388 -- http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/M3-88/

$ 1,800 -- M5088 -- http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/M50-88/

I would also suggest looking at:

Yamaha Motif XS8

Roland Fantom G8

• Members

You might want to demo the Kurz PC3X against the Korg M3-88, not the M50.

Ha! you just beat me to it Martin. I was about to suggest the same.

The M3 is indeed a much better comparison.

btw, good to see you back. where have you been?

• Members

Yeah you'd have to compare vs the M3 88..

not necessarily a PC3 vs M50...mainly because the M50 wasn't exactly made to be at the PC3 level of competition...

The M3 I'd say is at that level...then it becomes what you as an individual get out of it personally

In which case, please see below:

http://acapella.harmony-central.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2173943

• 1 year later...
  • Members

Highly depends what you want.

I got a PC3, but also experienced with korgs, and well Korg sounds a bit more.... Processed?

PC3 on the other hand sounds quiet natural, piano sound is passable on both, but kurz has more real sounding sample, while korg has the "bright piano". And that about sums up the difference on all the other sounds too.