Nord Question

Chummy

• Members

Hey,

I am looking to replace or add to my digital organ and buy a synth.

Now, I am looking for something that can also serve as a MIDI keyboard for my Cubase, Also something that can recreate vintage early-mid 80s sounds

Like Junos Jupiters Moogs and DX7s. Lastly, I am studying music production at college and as a keyboardist would like my first "real" synth and get into synthesis even more.

Now I've been looking and found this Nord lead 4, My questions are:

1) Can you get to retro sounds with it? or should I go with a different synth. Because I am really into those 80s sounds.

2) I do have VSTs in Cubase, but I would like to be able to record my performance as MIDI directly from the synth. bypassing the "VST" (example: Hey I just created that cool resobass on the nord and would like to record it into Cubase track as an Instrument channel with MIDI notes and NOT in Audio).

Or again, should I go with a different board? any suggestions or comments from this specific synth users? or any synth that would fit my needs (spit it out don't be shy XD)

:D

• Members

I haven't heard a Nord Lead so I can't answer #1.

Regarding #2, you can do that with any MIDI keyboard and any decent DAW. It works just as you say: you add a blank MIDI track and set it to record the MIDI from your keyboard. You select the sound on the keyboard you want, simply so you know what you're doing will sound like (if you play it back using that same patch, which you don't have to do.)

When you're done recording, you'll have a MIDI track. I recommend you record audio too, on another track, so that you can fiddle with mixing and listen to what you played without having to have the keyboard connected. (You may need to mute the MIDI track to keep from hearing both the audio recorded track and the live keyboard at the same time.)