1964 harmony archtop

Mattyblue

• Members

1964 harmony archtop 1215 restoration

TL;DR I’m new and attempting my first restoration on my grandpa’s guitar

Hello everyone! I decided to restore an old harmony archtop my grandfather gave me before he passed. While researching the process I found this forum and decided to join and share my progress.

I was a carpenter in the Air Force for over 7 years, and I’ve done some pretty intricate wood and metal projects with inlays and detailed finishes, but I have never done any luthier work.

The guitar isn’t worth very much, but it was in decent salvageable condition. The wood (solid birch) was extremely dry due to being stored in an attic for the past 20 years. The action was high, and the neck was starting to separate from the body from string tension. The top and back were beginning to separate from the sides.

I removed the back pretty easily and seen the glue was a brown/red color and cracking/disintegrating when worked.

I managed to strip the finish on the back and sand to a workable surface. I am hoping that I can build a jig to put pressure on the heel and force the dovetail loose, since the glue is so dry rotted. Then reset the neck to achieve proper action.

I am also going to attempt to install new frets, although I can start to see a little bit of delamination of the fretboard.

I will try and post some pictures of my progress throughout. Any tips, advice, suggestions, and opinions are welcomed!

thanks for reading!

• Members

Since you have the back off can you tell whether the glue is hide or not? Try a little very hot water and see if it dissolves - if so your neck reset will be quite easy. Build a steam generator (an old espresso machine works very well or a pressure cooker), pull the 15th fret and drill a hole into the neck pocket to allow you to inject the steam, the neck should slide right out. There are a lot of vids on the internet - if you need help let me know.