DIY Pedalboard: Anyone try Aluminum instead of Wood

KarenNSmythe

• Members

Hi,

This builder interview brought me an idea of Aluminum material and weird design (#2 Chris from CDW): https://shredaddict.com/diy-pedalboard/

Although I have never built any pedalboard by myself before but I want to try this idea out, it really impressed me: Light-weight and Shiny.

Have anyone try Aluminum instead of using wood? Especially my concern of Safety with electrical insulation of Aluminum relating to the power supply.

I had an aluminum pedalboard back in the early 1980s. I drilled and tapped the board (IIRC it was a ~1/8" thick aluminum sheet that was probably about 24" x 16") and used screws to mount some of the pedals from underneath. Later I just used contact cement to mount a couple more. I used the contact cement to hold four large rubber feet to the underside of the board to get it up off the ground a bit.

I wish I had pictures of it, but if there are any, I don't know where they are. Unfortunately the board itself (and all my pedals that I had on it) were stolen in the mid-80s. :mad2::(

Looking at the design you linked to, it looks like it's pre-drilled with holes so you can use cable ties to mount the pedals. If you do a custom board, you'd need to source the aluminum sheet and then just drill the holes where you need them for the pedal layout you want to use, rather than fill the whole board with holes.

I'd do a test setup first (with all of the pedals laid out as you like and connected together), and measure that to get the overall size for the board / aluminum sheet. Then purchase the aluminum and lay everything out on the board and mark where you need the cable ties to go through it, drill the board, and then mount everything.