How to custom repaint a SYNTH

Chummy

• Members

As a complete noobie. Is it possible for me, to pick up an air brush, mask the writings and paint them (maybe) and the rest of my synth? My Yamaha KX5 is begging to be restored, although fully operational in a bad comsetic condition and I have no idea where to start, what would I need etc.. I saw some youtube vid but IDK if I need to use sand paper wash the Metal with water (yeah, it's mostly metal and some plastic) after I extract the panels of the exterior what color should I be using? brush? what to use for mask? drying time? etc.

any help would be appreciated. icon_e_wink.gif

• Members

From the pics I goggled up it looks like there's a couple of different versions. Some are all black and look to be plastic and others are grey in color and look like there may be some aluminum panels.

Is it something like this?

9kx5.gif

These black ones look to be plastic.

485738791_o.jpg

I suppose you can repaint the metal using auto body spray paint. You can buy it in most auto parts stores. There are two basic types. Lacquer and acrylics. If you use acrylics you have to stick with them and use the matching clear coat. if you yse acrylic and try and use a lacquer clear coat or some other paint over it you're more the likely going to have issues. When it comes to painting you need to stick with the same base chemicals.

The 5 main types are:

Alcohol = Lacquer, Shellac. These can work on wood or metal so long as they are properly prepared and applies.