Mixing Desk I made over the last couple weeks.

diocide

• Members

So I've really wanted a nice desk for my computer/recording room. The one I have now is WAYYY too big. I've been looking to get one for a while, but hadn't picked anything up yet.

So on my way home Thursday, I noticed a neighbor of mine was throwing out a computer desk that looked a lot like what I wanted for my computer, only problem was that it was half broken, made from {censored}ty particle board and was in really rough shape. Anyway, I grabbed it and brought it home.

So using the desk from the neighbor as a guide/blueprint, I started getting some ideas together. I went out and purchased almost everything yesterday, and started building today... Heres the progress so far;

88c2a523.jpg

bc203fd2.jpg

And then I made two shelves for audio monitors (which I don't own.......yet)

b519298a.jpg

I had to remove the main desk in order to screw the small pieces into the small, monitor desk.

This is my first attempt to build a piece of furniture (I'm a plumbing/heating guy) but I think it's coming along well. I didn't use the most expensive woods, because this was effectively an experiment, but I think from here on in, I'd be comfortable using more expensive hardwoods.

The lower and main pieces are birch ply, while the rest is pine. It's all sanded here, and all the screw holes are predrilled and ready. I need to get some longer screws for some of the joints, so I will probably wait to glue it and screw it until tomorrow. I'll then fill all the holes, and put a couple coats of stain and poly on it.

I managed to save the sliding keyboard shelf hardware and I might re use it, unless I find a beefier one online and it's not too expensive. That, along with some decent casters that have stops, and I'm all set...

I'll post pics as I complete the remaining steps.

• Members

Two coats of Minwax Poly Stain (stain and poly in one) later...

af7791ef.jpg

dfdde30a.jpg