Help with a possible mod on an Ibanez Tube King TK999US

100 watt

• Members

Just aquired an Ibanez TK999US. Did a tube swap & got it sounding a bit better (still gonna try some lower gain tubes) but was wondering if there are some other tweaks (aside true bypassing) that may be done.

Would like a little more "punch" on chords and a bit more on the bass side / make things "tighter"

Was also curious about either replaceing the zener diodes with LEDS (Ive done this on some pedals before & liked the results. Seemed a little less fizzy & to have a bit more "definition" .

Im not good with schematics. Here's a schematic for the TK999US.

http://www.dirk-hendrik.com/ibanez_tk999_us.pdf

What could be changed up in the EQ section to get a little more "oomph" out of the bottom end?

Which diodes are the clippers?

Any other thoughts on possible improvements would be appreciated.

• 1 month later...
  • Members

If you play with the following Caps:

C25A

C8A

C21 (your midrange cap)

You can shift what frequencies get rolled off/cut off. Your "bass" frequencies on the EQ right now are wide open and based on this circuit's EQ, and your Mid/Treble simply boost/cut off bass from the original signal, but HEY WAIT, the original signal is still there, the bass pot just turns up/down all the original frequencies. R32 and R33 help "smooth' them out. Adding a cap would let you isolate your mids/trebles from your bass...start with the usual guitar tone pot values.

I'm not seeing any clipping diodes here. This is an op-amp circuit.

C8A and R16 deal with rolling off and "smoothing" frequencies during the gain stage.

Look at u2.B (op amp). Below you have C9, at 47p and then VR1 500k for gain. You COULD add diodes here (in between the two) for a soft clipping, or, right at the output (make the clipping pair, then tie to ground) before the resistor which will add hard clipping. Or hell both! have at it man.

Dont mess with the Zeiners. Theyre to help isolate the op amps.