So what kind of EQ do you guys use...

• Members

when you are EQing each track? I'm just getting into the whole "EQ the tracks and make them fit like a puzzle" concept...so what would be a nice, basic EQ that I could use that would give me good results? (I like graphic EQ's by the way) :wave:

• Members

The first year I was doing this it was the stock one on the software (cubase for me) so a simple 4 band parametric.

2 years ago I picked up the wavarts package. I use trackplug a lot.

I know it's tempting to use a fixed band EQ (graphic) but in the studio world they are not used that much as far as on a per track basis. It's to limiting.

EQing takes alot of reading and trial and error to get down. It's hard (for me anyway) to say "oh sure no problem cut here boost here etc etc...

• Members

Check out the Voxengo Gliss-EQ. It incorporates a spectrum analyzer which can be combined with the analyzer from other instances of the EQ so that if say for instance that you're EQing 3 guitar parts. Each of the Spectrum Analyzers can be seen on all instances of Gliss. It's very helpful for spotting trouble frequencies.

http://www.voxengo.com/product/glisseq/

EDIT: I just noticed that you're from Jersey too. Where abouts? I'm about a 1/2 mile from Seaside Heights.

Mike

• Members

Check out the Voxengo Gliss-EQ. It incorporates a spectrum analyzer which can be combined with the analyzer from other instances of the EQ so that if say for instance that you're EQing 3 guitar parts. Each of the Spectrum Analyzers can be seen on all instances of Gliss. It's very helpful for spotting trouble frequencies.

EDIT: I just noticed that you're from Jersey too. Where abouts? I'm about a 1/2 mile from Seaside Heights.

Mike

Thanks for the link, Mike. I just downloaded the other Voxengo plugin last night. I forget what its called but its a 7 band EQ and really easy to work with. I'll try this one too.

And I'm in Burlington, by the way. A few miles outside of Philly.

• Members