Macs and DAW

• Members

I posted this in the recording forum but received no responses, so I'm trying here.

I've been contemplating updating my computer for my Pro Tools LE 7.3 rig, currently I use a Dell Dimension that I bought new 3 years ago, single 2.53 GHz processor and 2 GB of RAM, XP home. My use is just as a hobbyist, I use my rig for recording my own projects, my two bands, and also for song writing.

I use a lot of plugins, some of which are very tasking on the system.

I was looking at the various new PC options but came across some comments about Macs that peaked my curiosity. Can someone clarity if a PC and a Mac each have 8 GB of RAM, does each have the ability to allocate all available and not needed RAM by the OS to use for Pro Tools or are do they cap Pro Tools at a fixed amount, like 2GB or something regardless of the amount of RAM? My DAW doesn't see the internet. What other advantages/disadvantages are there to consider for Macs? I know about the stability issues of Macs and that PC's only come with Vista now (which I'm not really interested in), what other factors are there? I'm curious if I really can justify the price of a Mac as they appear to be much higher than a PC. I'm really just looking at desktop computers, not laptops.

I'm not planning on making a purchase in 2008, not really sure when, just looking at options at this point. My brother-in-law is very familiar with Macs but not from the DAW perspective.

Windows XP computers can only have 4GB of RAM, and anything over 3GB is a bit of a sticking point... you can "get back" some of it, but the maximum that will normally be available is around 3.2 - 3.4 GB, depending on what hardware you have installed on the machine.

I'm not sure what the current Mac RAM limitations are under OS 10.5. :idk: I would imagine that, like Vista 64 bit versions, it's higher though.