Mixing a complex song -- overwhelmed!

• Members

First off, I'm no professional by any means, so there is an inherent limit to the quality of work I am capable of producing. That being understood, I would still like some advice as to handle the music I'm working on.

Here is the first mix:

http://soundcloud.com/hylopathic/5-1

UPDATED:

And here is the slightly modified version:

http://soundcloud.com/hylopathic/5b

Any advice is appreciated, as we want this to be the best it can be according to our vision. There is certainly a lot of work to be done. That said, the ensuing details might limit the applicability of some tips, but please be assured anything is still appreciated!

The composition is very dense with the guitars playing as many as five different parts simultaneously. It has been a great struggle to marry each of these elements somewhat coherently, but I'm moderately proud of the success so far.

There is the additional difficulty that this music is not intended to be a commercial product designed for viable success. Our mission is to recreate our vision as accurately as possible. The vocals are low because they are of secondary importance. Reducing the guitar gain was also done to the greatest extent possible before the intensity was lost (this is a form of extreme metal after all). For each of these reasons, I will likely dismiss several offered tips, but before doing so, I will certainly give it the greatest consideration my comprehension of mixing can provide.

The provided song is just one of eight with equally complex structures. We would like to develop this material to a point where it might some day be mastered, but also to have the unprofessional option of leaving it as it is.

I will follow this thread closely to respond with appropriate feedback and to voice any concerns I have. I know that no one has to contribute to this, so I greatly appreciate the time you are able to donate in helping our project along.

• Members