good recording software for a computer recording novice

• Members

so, ive been using audacity which has prompted some chuckles from friends. ive only ever recorded in a pro studio or by myself to garageband. i have a windows laptop (hp dv4, 4 gigs of ram, 2.2 gig dual core, windows 7 ultimate 64 bit) and i mean, i need an interface too.

i dont mind spending a little bit of money. i cant spend too much right no but eventually i want to get some good gear.

but just to get goin...ableton? cubase? pro tools?

im really not sure at all. help!

Is there anyone in the area you'll be collaborating with regularly? If so, you might want to consider using whatever program they use. It will make sharing song / session data back and forth a bit easier, and will give you someone local you can call upon for help if you really get stuck.

I'm primarily a Pro Tools guy, so if you want to pick my brain on stuff... ;):o:D Plus, it is a pretty darned popular program, and it's the one you're most likely to find other people / studios using. However, Reaper, Cubase, and Sonar all have a lot of fans too. Logic is out of the question unless you're willing to buy a Mac. Now that even Dightal Performer is available for PC, that leaves Logic as the only major Mac-only DAW program that I'm aware of.

As far as the interface, that depends on how many things you want to be able to record simultaneously. Just a single vocalist, or maybe a guitar or bass amp, or a couple of mikes for recording an acoustic guitar overdub? Then a two channel interface might be all you need. Want to be able to record a drum kit? You'll want a four channel interface as a bare minimum, and more likely, at least eight channels. Need to be able to record guitar, bass, and drums all at once? Eight is the bare minimum, and 16 channels or more is strongly recommended.