Harry Fox Notice Of Compulsory License

• Members

So, recently I released a CD, and got a streaming & retail distribution package from the CD maker. Once I did all the steps to get the streaming stuff going I received some postal mail (since I hold all copyright & PRO rights for the music) containing notices from Harry Fox agency that they were taking out a compulsory license to redistribute the music on Spotify. I'm not sure what this verbage means... License, I get.

Compulsory.... who is being compelled? What are they being compelled to do?

Has anyone else heard of this or have gotten a similar notice? What exactly this is telling me? I'm not very good at deciphering legalese...

Oh (at the risk of being called a spammer), in case there's any interest in the CD itself:

preview: http://www.soundclick.com/philboking

buy tracks or CD: http://www.cdbaby.com/philboking2

• Members
So, recently I released a CD, and got a streaming & retail distribution package from the CD maker. Once I did all the steps to get the streaming stuff going I received some postal mail (since I hold all copyright & PRO rights for the music) containing notices from Harry Fox agency that they were taking out a compulsory license to redistribute the music on Spotify. I'm not sure what this verbage means... License, I get.

Compulsory.... who is being compelled? What are they being compelled to do?

Has anyone else heard of this or have gotten a similar notice? What exactly this is telling me? I'm not very good at deciphering legalese...

Oh (at the risk of being called a spammer), in case there's any interest in the CD itself:

preview: www.soundclick.com/philboking

buy tracks or CD: www.cdbaby.com/philboking2