Camcorder info needed

• Members

My old (Hitachi) tape camcorder just gave up, and I need to replace it. I know NOTHING about the new formats, and need suggestions on a solid replacement. Just 2 musts:

1) format type (digital or dvd): must have an analog out.

2) $$ range: up to $800

If you have or know of a unit that at least has those criteria, I need suggestions, and any features that you're willing to share. Going to a NASCAR event in June and need a decent 'corder.

Thanks, Paul

• Members

I'd avoid the DVD types, and go with good ol' reliable miniDV tape.

Word on the street is that Sony camcorders are the most reliable, but I'm a big Panasonic fan. I've been using Panasonic camcorders since 2000 and they've always stood up under, shall we say, difficult environmental conditions.

• Members

Paully,

I make my living as a network television director/technical director. You mention your budget is $800 which pretty much limits you to a single chip camera; Craig is correct - in that price range MiniDV is the way to go and chances are the camera you buy will have both firewire and analog outputs.

What is the purpose of the end product? Are you shooting for personal archival, or do you have commercial aspirations for your footage? Also, what is the nature of the NASCAR event in June that you're attending? (I've written several books on NASCAR racing and attended many events on media credentials for TV/publishing purposes).

~Blackbelt

• Members