OT: Question for programmers, etc: APIs

• Members

Waaaaaaaay OT:

I've been a writer my whole professional life, but never a tech writer before now. As part of my current tech writing job I am being asked to develop the documentation for an API developer's kit.

I know, in a vague sort of way, what an API is, but I honestly have no idea of what kinds of documentation typically accompany them, and in what forms.

My boss has asked me to look into the matter in a casual sort of way while I wait for him to say go.

So I'm starting here. Can any of you programmer types point me to a nice model online?

very thanks

• Members

The Java API is a good example, albeit HUGE!

An API is a group of function, classes, and or commands that can accomplish a group of related tasks. You can think of, for example, the set of HTML tags as an API. There are tags to create titles, tags to reference image files, tags to format text, tags to run scripts or applets, tags to break a page into a series of table cells, etc. There are a finite number of tags, each with its own purpose and syntax, and all of them work together to do a common job, i.e. format web content on a functional, pleasing page that can be displayed on any of a number of browsers.

• Members

Originally posted by Magpel

Waaaaaaaay OT:

I've been a writer my whole professional life, but never a tech writer before now. As part of my current tech writing job I am being asked to develop the documentation for an API developer's kit.

I know, in a vague sort of way, what an API is, but I honestly have no idea of what kinds of documentation typically accompany them, and in what forms.

My boss has asked me to look into the matter in a casual sort of way while I wait for him to say go.

So I'm starting here. Can any of you programmer types point me to a nice model online?

very thanks