Stereophonic Microphone Technique...

Bruce Swedien

• Replies 222
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

I am not an engineer, but I have to be in my own project studio. I have been experimenting with the Stereo Micing technique that you so kindly showed me in a previous post.

My biggest challenge is getting that stereo solo sound into the mix of a bigger ensemble that is not miced in stereo (without the stereo tracks getting lost or muddy).

I am keeping at it though I clearly have a lot to learn.

I have talked to several engineers I work with about this and what I get from them is that it is easier to place and mix a bunch of mono tracks than the stereo ones. So many engineers never learn how to properly work with stereo.

The caveat is that the mono tracks may be easier to mix but they don't sound as good or rich (or three dimensional) as the stereo tracks.

• Moderators

Bruce,

I love Blumlein. It has such a realistic quality. Tracking percussion in a live room with a pair changed my views forever.

My question:

How do you feel about ORTF? In theory, it would seem that 2 cardioids would more closely resemble 2 ears. When AB-ing my options however, I like Blumlien. Any thoughts regarding ORTF?

• Members

My own feeling on stereo micing is that it works very very well in a good sounding room. I've experimented (with some success) in putting up a stereo pair, then using the same pair to dub various harmonies, moving myself to the next singer position for each part. It did sound much more natural than panned close-miced parts. Those pretty much mixed themselves.

Limiting your options in any way (like ALWAYS using close-micing + panning, or OTOH, NEVER using close-micing + panning) reduces your artistic possibilities, and can close your mind to techniques that are 'just the ticket' in new unusual recording situations.